Wanted: A Good Ruby on Rails 2.0 Tutorial

There have been many enhancements to the Rails framework. These changes have effected the scaffolding, exception handling , collection fixtures etc. For details about these and other changes I recommend this page.

If you are looking for a Rails 2.0 tutorial, that actually works, then you should visit Fairleads. This tutorial works perfectly. It will help you get to grips with the basics of the Model-View-Controller design of Rails.

If you are using Windows use Instant Rails to get up and running quickly! Instant Rails is a complete package containing Ruby, Rails, Apache, and MySQL. It does not need to be installed. It runs from within a folder of your choice. It will not modify your system. It is not the best looking system, but it does the job well.

 

 

Obviously you can use Instant Rails and still follow the Fairleads tutorial. Where Fairleads uses the ‘work’ directory you should use the ‘rails_apps’ folder. You should have your Rails ‘exchange’ application up and running in no time…

12 thoughts on “Wanted: A Good Ruby on Rails 2.0 Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Ruby and Rails IDE « Daryn Holmes - Weblog

  2. Pingback: Beginners Tutorial: Routing in Rails 2.0 (with REST) - Part 1 of n « Daryn’s Blog

  3. Thanks for posting this! I started with the onlamp.com version and quickly realized that their tutorial is out of date as well. I hope the Fairleads tutorial works completely.
    But I don’t like the idea of investing time to learn Rails only to have it change in the next version. This shouldn’t be considered a full released until then. Last time I check I didn’t see beta on 2.0’s version of Rails.

    I’m curious enough to give a whirl though. Time will tell.

  4. Hi Emmy, I have also been completely frustrated with Rails tutorials. I get half way through, juts to find out that the tutorial is out of date. I think you will be pleased the Fairleads tutorial. This Rails On Edge tutorial was also good – there were some issues, but check the comments to see if they have been resolved.

    I also attempted to write a tutorial, you can find it here – To be honest I did not have time to include everything that I originally wanted to include, I hope people still find it useful.

    Please let me know if you come across any other good, working tutorials.
    Good luck with your Rails applications!

Leave a Reply

